Back

Published Date : 22 March 2021
stc Kuwait and Virgin Mobile Middle East & Africa led consortium receive MVNO license from CITRA

  • Al-Ozainah: This milestone achieved by CITRA aids in stimulating healthy competition in the local market while elevating the quality of service in Kuwait
  • Alharbi: We are delighted to partner with a prominent global brand to engage in a new market layer within the local telecom sector
  • Nielsen: We are proud to launch Virgin Mobile in Kuwait as part of our ongoing commitment to provide customers with innovative digital services, transforming the traditional mobile experience.

Kuwait - 21 March 2021: Kuwait Telecommunications Company – stc, a world-class digital leader providing innovative services and platforms to customers, enabling the digital transformation in Kuwait, and Virgin Mobile Middle East and Africa (VMMEA) received the Communication and Information Technology Regulatory Authority’s (CITRA) approval for the first-of-its-kind mobile virtual network operator (MVNO) license to launch Virgin Mobile Kuwait (Connect Arabia WLL).

The announcement of the first mobile virtual network operator in Kuwait was made during a press conference attended by the Minister of Public Works and Minister of State for Communications and Information Technology, Dr. Rana Al-Fares, Chairman and CEO of CITRA, engineer Salim Muthib Al-Ozainah, as well as representatives from the authority, CEO of stc Kuwait, engineer Maziad Alharbi, CEO of Virgin Mobile Kuwait, Benoit Janin, and various members of the local press.

Virgin Mobile Kuwait will operate using stc’s network, with stc acting as a Host Facilities Based Provider “FBP” with Virgin Mobile Kuwait, offering prepaid plans to users, making it the first virtual telecom service provider in Kuwait.

By combining VMMEA’s role as the region’s leading MVNO and digital innovator, and the strong infrastructure of stc’s network, the two companies aim to provide an unparalleled customer experience within this market, transforming the user and on-demand experience for pre-paid mobile users through a range of digital solutions.

Engineer Salim Muthib Al-Ozainah, Chairman and CEO of CITRA, said, “Stemming from CITRA’s goal of promoting positive competition, we are glad to license the first MNVO to Virgin Mobile Kuwait. We are also glad to see the entry of a reputable international investor such as Virgin International in bringing their digital expertise to the Kuwaiti market. This move will surely contribute greatly to the telecom sector in raising the quality of service and overall customer experience.”

The previously established consortium was led by VMMEA and included stc as a strategic partner to provide a range of new-to-market fully digital consumer services in the Kuwaiti telecom sector.

The license awarded by CITRA to Virgin Mobile Kuwait to provide MVNO services is pursuant to the agreement for the provision and resale of the services necessary to allow the reselling of services to end-users and operate as a business. Virgin Mobile Kuwait aims to launch its innovative app-based platform with proven technology derived from VMMEA’s digital operator platform, mainly targeting the local youth population.

Commenting on this significant milestone in the local telecom market, engineer Maziad Alharbi, CEO of stc, said, “In line with our commitment to assist in the development of the Kuwaiti economy, we are proud to partner with a prominent global brand to engage in a new market layer within the local telecom sector. stc's well-built network infrastructure will provide Virgin Mobile Kuwait with high quality advanced service to meet the diverse needs of its customers, specially focusing on the youth.”

Alharbi expressed that through this partnership, Virgin Mobile Kuwait aims to provide users with accessible and customized services. The online pre-paid plan services will allow digital subscribers to take full control of their monthly bills and add ons. He also mentioned that this initiative falls in line with stc’s commitment to enable digital transformation in Kuwait, providing customers and the people of Kuwait with pioneering telecom and digital solutions that meet and exceed their expectations.

Alharbi added, “I would also like to thank and extend my sincere gratitude to CITRA, as this would not be possible without their guidance and support. CITRA’s role in backing the telecom sector has enabled local providers to operate in line with international standards. They have continuously supported the various initiatives initiated by local telecom providers to expand their offerings and capitalize on lucrative opportunities that have proved beneficial for the providers and the community.”

Erik Dudman Nielsen, Founder & Chief Executive Officer of Virgin Mobile Middle East & Africa, said, “We are very excited about launching Virgin Mobile in Kuwait. This forms part of our ongoing commitment to providing customers with innovative digital propositions, transforming the traditional mobile experience. We have no doubt that Virgin Mobile will introduce a new era for mobile connectivity with customer-led services, enabling a seamless customer experience.”

Virgin Mobile Middle East and Africa has established a leading position across the Middle East and Africa region. Currently operating in Saudi Arabia, Oman and providing advisory services to Emirates Integrated Telecommunications Company (EITC) in the UAE, Virgin Mobile Middle East & Africa has been catering to a continuously growing number of mobile users offering world-class products and services since 2007, serving more than 3 million customers across the region.

Join our qitaf rewards program now!
Feedback
Feedback

رجوع

تاريخ النشر: 22 مارس 2021
فوز تحالف stc الكويت وفيرجن بأول ترخيص لمشغل اتصالات افتراضي في الكويت

  • الأذينة: إنجاز جديد للهيئة يعزز المنافسة في السوق المحلي ومستوى جودة الخدمة في الكويت
  • الحربي: سعداء بشراكتنا مع علامة تجارية عالمية لإدخال خدمات اتصالات جديدة للسوق المحلي
  • نيلسن: فخورون بإطلاق فيرجن موبايل في الكويت كجزء من التزامنا المستمر بتزويد العملاء بخدمات رقمية مبتكرة

الكويت - 21 مارس 2021: فازت كل من شركة الاتصالات الكويتيةstc ، الرائدة في تمكين التحول الرقمي وتقديم الخدمات المبتكرة والمنصات المتكاملة للعملاء في دولة الكويت، وشركة فيرجن موبايل الشرق الأوسط وإفريقيا (VMMEA) بالترخيص المحلي لتشغيل شبكة الاتصالات المتنقلة الافتراضية (MVNO)، الأولى من نوعها في الكويت، وذلك بعد حصولهما على موافقة الهيئة العامة للاتصالات وتقنية المعلومات لإطلاق) فيرجن موبايل الكويت(.

وتم الإعلان عن أول مشغل اتصالات افتراضي في الكويت خلال مؤتمر صحفي مشترك، بحضور وزيرة الاشغال العامة وزيرة الدولة لشؤون الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات د. رنا الفارس وممثلي للهيئة العامة للاتصالات وتقنية المعلومات، والمهندس سالم مثيب الأذينة رئيس مجلس الإدارة والرئيس التنفيذي للهيئة العامة للاتصالات وتقنية المعلومات، والرئيس التنفيذي في شركة stc المهندس مزيد بن ناصر الحربي، والرئيس التنفيذي في شركة فيرجن الكويت بينويت جانين وعدد من ممثلي وسائل الاعلام.

وفي بيان لها، قالت stc أنه من خلال شراكتها مع فيرجنVMMEA أنه سيتم إطلاق أول مشغل شبكة الاتصالات المتنقلة الافتراضية MVNO في الكويت مستفيدة من شبكة stc واسعة الانتشار.

وتهدف الشركتان من خلال هذا التحالف الجمع بين دور فيرجن موبايل كشركة رائدة في شبكات الاتصالات المتنقلة الافتراضية MVNO والخدمات الرقمية على المستوى الإقليمي، مع البنية التحتية القوية والواسعة لشبكة stc ، لتعزيز تجربة مستخدمي الهاتف النقال والباقات المدفوعة مسبقًا من خلال مجموعة من الحلول الرقمية.

وبهذه المناسبة، قال المهندس سالم مثيب الأذينة، رئيس مجلس الإدارة والرئيس التنفيذي للهيئة العامة للاتصالات وتقنية المعلومات: "يعتبر الترخيص الذي قدمته الهيئة العامة للاتصالات وتقنية المعلومات لأول مشغل افتراضي بدولة الكويت من خلال استقطاب المستثمر الأجنبي والمتمثل بشركة فيرجن العالمية على شبكة stc ، انجاز جديد للهيئة يعزز سوق المنافسة في القطاع المحلي، ويساهم في رفع مستوى جودة الخدمة وانشاء سوق جديد للجملة ويعد الأول من نوعه في دولة الكويت".

كما سيساهم هذا التحالف الذي تم تأسيسه مسبقاً بقيادة stcوفيرجن كشريك استراتيجي، في تقديم مجموعة من الخدمات الرقمية المتكاملة الجديدة الى سوق الاتصالات الكويتي بتقديم خدمات مشغل شبكة الاتصالات المتنقلة الافتراضية MVNO، بما يخدم سوق الاتصالات المحلي.

وتعليقًا على هذا الإنجاز الهام في سوق الاتصالات المحلي، قال المهندس مزيد بن ناصر الحربي ، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة stc الكويت : "تماشياً مع التزامنا بالمساهمة في تطوير خدمات الاتصالات والتي تنعكس إيجاباً على نمو عجلة الاقتصاد الكويتي، نفتخر بالإعلان عن شراكتنا مع علامة تجارية عالمية من أجل توفير خدمات رائدة في السوق المحلي.

وأوضح الحربي، "ستوفر البنية التحتية لشبكة stc لشركة فيرجن موبايل الكويت خدمة عالية الجودة لتلبية الاحتياجات المتنوعة لعملائها المستهدفين ، مع التركيز بشكل خاص على فئة الشباب. و تتماشى هذه الشراكة مع التزام stc بتمكين التحول الرقمي في الكويت، وتزويد العملاء بحلول رائدة في مجال الحلول الرقمية ."

وأضاف الحربي: " أتقدم بالشكر الى الهيئة العامة للاتصالات وتقنية المعلومات، فلولا دعمها المتواصل ورؤيتها المستدامة لدفع قطاع الاتصالات المحلي ما كان هذا الإنجاز ليتحقق. حيث تلعب الهيئة دوراً محورياً في سبيل تطوير قطاع الاتصالات المحلي وتعزيز الخدمات المبتكرة بما يرتقى الى مستوى المعايير الدولية. فضلاً عن دورها في دعم الشركات المحلية من أجل تنويع عروضهم والاستفادة من الفرص المتميزة في القطاع بما يخدم شريحة العملاء ومتطلباتهم المتنامية".

ومن ناحية اخرى، قال إريك دودمان نيلسن ، المؤسس والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة فيرجن موبايل الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا ، "نحن متحمسون للغاية لإطلاق فيرجن موبايل في الكويت، حيث يعكس هذا الإنجاز جزءًا من التزامنا المستمر بتزويد العملاء بخدمات رقمية مبتكرة ، وتحويل تجربة الاتصالات المتنقلة التقليدية. ليس لدينا أدنى شك في أن فيرجن موبايل ستقدم حقبة جديدة للاتصالات المتنقلة ، مما يتيح تجربة سلسة للعملاء ".

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن شركة فيرجن موبايل الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا قد رسخت لنفسها مكانة رائدة اقليمياً، وهي تعمل حاليًا في المملكة العربية السعودية وسلطنة عمان وتقدم خدمات استشارية لشركة الإمارات للاتصالات المتكاملة (EITC) في الإمارات العربية المتحدة ، وتخدم عددًا متزايدًا باستمرار من مستخدمي الهواتف المحمولة الذين يبحثون عن منتجات وخدمات عالمية المستوى منذ عام 2007 ، لتلبية احتياجات شريحة العملاء المتنامية، والتي تصل لأكثر من 3 ملايين عميل في جميع أنحاء المنطقة.

انضم الى برنامج المكافات "قطاف" الان !
Feedback